Eliane Locher


After graduating at the college in Brig, she studied music at the Hochschule der Künste in Bern with Heidi Péter-Indermühle. She completed her studies with a master in pedagogy and in orchestral music. After internships in the symphony orchestras of Bern and Biel, she completed her studies at the Sweelinck Conservatorium, the Conservatory in Amsterdam with Koos Verheul.

During 15 years she was flutist in the Orchestre Philharmonique Suisse. With this ensemble she played regularly at all major festivals in Switzerland, including the Lucerne Festival, the Menuhin Festival Gstaad, the Davos Festival, the Zurich Festival and the Murten Classics. She has played under conductors such as Charles Dutoit, Rudolf Barshai, Mario Venzago.

Her interest in chamber music is in crossover-style and interdisciplinary projects. With the Ensemble Vibration4 she realised the trilogy 'Vibrations Valaisannes', a multimedia project in which the ensemble takes up archaic themes from the Valais culture and combines them in a new context with contemporary music.

She is also enthusiastic about teaching. She is a flute teacher at the Valais Music School and conducts the flute orchestra flautando. She is co-founder and director of the Blattner Lager, a chamber music camp for children and teenagers in the Valais. For several years she has been leading chamber music courses at the music weeks in Arosa and Gommer Musikferien.

Eliane Locher


Après avoir obtenu la maturité au collège de Brig, Eliane Locher-Walpen intègre la Hochschule der Künste de Berne dans la classe d’Heidi Péter-Indermühle où elle obtient un Master de pédagogie et un Master de musicien d’orchestre. Après des stages dans les orchestres symphoniques de Berne et de Bienne, elle a terminé ses études au Sweelinck Conservatorium d’Amsterdam dans la classe de Koos Verheul.

Avec l'Orchestre Philharmonique Suisse elle s'est produite dans les festivals suisses les plus renommés, tels que le Lucerne Festival, le Menuhin Festival Gstaad, le Davos Festival, le Zurich Festival ou encore les Morat Classics. Elle a notamment eu la chance de jouer sous la direction de Charles Dutoit, Rudolf Barshai, Mario Venzago.

Elle s'intéresse à la musique de chambre dans le cadre de projets interdisciplinaires et de style croisé. Avec l'ensemble Vibration4, elle réalise actuellement la trilogie Vibrations Valaisannes, un projet multimédia dans lequel l'ensemble reprend des thèmes archaïques de la culture populaire valaisanne et les place dans un nouveau contexte de musique contemporaine.

Passionnée par l’enseignement, elle est professeur de flûte à l'école de musique d'Oberwallis et dirige l'orchestre de flûtes flautando. Elle est également co-fondatrice et directrice du Blattner Lager, un camp de musique de chambre pour enfants et adolescents en Valais. Depuis plusieurs années, elle enseigne la musique de chambre à Arosa Kultur et Grächen Musikferien.